Explore Our Site

Key Stages

Organisation of the Curriculum

Your child’s education is divided into the following key stages:

  • Foundation Stage 3-5 Years
  • Key Stage One from 5-7 Years
  • Key Stage Two from 7-11 Years
  • Key Stage Three from 11-14 Years
  • Key Stage Four from 14-16 Years

Early Years

The teaching and learning for the Early Years Foundation Stage is organised into areas of experience rather than individual subjects. These areas are as follows:

  • Communication & Language (listening & attention, understanding and speaking)
  • Physical Development (moving & handling and health & self-care)
  • Personal, Social & Emotional Development (self-confidence & self-awareness, managing feelings & behaviour and making relationships)
  • Literacy (reading & writing)
  • Mathematics (numbers and shape, space & measure)
  • Understanding the World (people and communities, the World and technology)
  • Expressive Arts & Design (exploring & using media & materials and being imaginative)

Key Stage One and Two

The teaching and learning for the Key Stages One and Two is based on three themes:

  • Core Skills: English, Mathematics, Science, Information & Communication Technology (ICT) and French (KS2 only)
  • Well Being: Physical Education, RE and PSHE
  • Creative Curriculum: Art, Design & Technology, Geography, History and Music

Our Curriculum

A broad and balanced curriculum is offered at Quainton with pupils being given many opportunities to develop their knowledge & understanding, learn and apply new skills and develop a healthy disposition towards lifelong learning. Our drivers for the whole school curriculum this year are: Enterprise, Ambition, Technology and Outdoor Learning. We believe that each and every child has an equal right to access the curriculum in a way that provides stimulation and challenge. We want our learners to be excited, imaginative and eager to participate in all aspects of school life.