The Governors

The governing body of Quainton Church of England School is made up of nine members from the local community and we have different professional backgrounds. We are all very passionate about the school and the children.  We are highly involved in school life and actively seek to promote the broader aims of the school in the community.



  • Strategic decision-making
    We work closely with the Senior Leadership Team and are involved in all strategic decision-making for the school.


  • Accountability
    We are fully accountable for our decisions and are compliant with the government’s statutory requirements. We have a highly robust system in place to evaluate the effectiveness of our work and will take action if necessary.


  • Balancing challenge and support
    Using our own professional expertise and the challenge and support approach, we help the headteacher succeed in the key areas of teaching and learning within the school.



Our Governors:


  • Chair of Governors

         Katie Smith -  (Teaching & Learning, Safeguarding, SEN and Early Years Governor)


  • Vice Chair

James Sloane (Vice Chair of the Resources Committee, Performance Management, Development and Health and Safety)


  • Staff Governors

           James Vernon (Headteacher)

    Karen Barber (Year 3 class teacher, Well-being and Personal Development governor)


  • Other Governors

Reverend Steve Flashman - (foundation governor). 

Lauren Moore (Co-opted governor, Finance)

Keeley Ashby (Nutrition. sport premium, EYFS, teaching and Learning, Pupil Premium and Co-opted governor)

Carla Garrad (Co-opted)

Aaron Francis (Parent)


Clerk to the Governing Body - Emma Burley


We meet several times a year and records of our attendance are detailed below.


If you have any questions, we can be contacted via the school office:  


Telephone: 01296 655242


Governor Information


Governor Bios


Governor Meeting Attendance 2022 23